Mexican Post Service… ?!

Do you have doubts about the Mexican Post Service ? Are you affraid about your packets? I send and recieve packets with Mexican Post Service to/from the different parts of the world more than 5 years so there are my experience and tips:

http://www.correosdemexico.gob.mx/English/Paginas/home.aspx

Lately (three years ago) I have a very good experience with registrated mail by Mexican Post Service. The tracking number sometimes appears with delay but APPEARS! and is trackeable for the mayority of the foreigner systems  I have experience with.  I cannot to tracked it in italian and australian system only :(. It works very well with USPS tracking, where you can track it even when it is still on way from Mexico. Other foreign countries systems track it when it arrive to their territory.  I could track to all  tracking or registrated numbers from the different parts of the world in the mexican tracking system only the US numbers started with L entry to Mexico as a no-registrated mail.

I wrote LATELY because years ago I had more problems :(.  I even never recieved one packet with doll sent from USA! All the time I most to pay custom taxes and the shippig takes more than 4 weeks from USA and 5 weeks from Europe or Asia. Now is very different and more quickly! I dont know if the reason for this was the change of my shipping address. In that time I recieved my packets in my job (embassy – so is possible that the customs were more nervious :D) and now I recieved all the packet in my home.  Now I have only very good experience!!!

Yes, I remember one lost packets but it was really very very strange. The seller sent me first packet – not delivered – she sent me the secondpackets (I asked for tracking number) – not deliveried, no tracking number, she sent me other packet – no deliveried, tracking number never works in USPS system … she sent NEW packet that was deliveried but without tracking number that she had promise … so …  I think is really very very strange if the post service lost 3 packets from the same seller and dont lose any other packet from different seller… Im sure it was problem with the seller or her staff.

Mexican post service offers registrated mail, equivalent of US Priority Mail and Mexpost, equivalent of US Express Mail.  I see only one difference – the price. Mexpost is much more expensive.  I dont know if the packets sent from mexico are deliveried more fast but I recieve both types (Priority Mail and Express Mail) in 2-3 weeks without any difference! Oh… I forgot… in two case I recieved the express mail later but it was in christmas time :D. I understand that a lot of sellers dont want to send packets to Mexico but unfortunatelly I think that the “lost” packets are not the problem of the Mexican Post Service :(, and only Express mail offers insurance…

But if you are waiting to any packet from Mexico or if you send any packet to Mexico only check often the tracking number in the system. When the seller/buyer say you that it wasnt delivery you can check it!!! And check it in Mexican system because sometimes the USPS system is “frozen” when the packet leave USA territory.

Tracking system of the Mexican post service: http://www.correosdemexico.gob.mx/English/Paginas/track.aspx

I never use it in English so Im not sure if it works well… here is in spanish: http://www.correosdemexico.gob.mx/ServiciosLinea/Paginas/cemsmexpost.aspx

And last note 😀 The problems with the organized crimen in the North of Mexico  has nothing to do! I know, exist a lot of prejudices but be sure that the drug traffickers are not interested in post services! Addition I saw in the tracking system that all the packets I shipped via truck were sent by plane because first they appeared in the international airport of Mexico-city… so the packets sent to USA never “cross” the dangerous part of Mexico. So, dont worry!

SUMMARY:   DON´T SEND PACKETS AND CARDS WITHOUT TRACKING NUMBER  AND DO NOT SEND ANYTHING DURING THE CHRISTMAS TIME!!! CHECK VERY OFTEN THE TRACKING NUMBER!!! WRITE THE SHIPPING ADDRESS VERY CAREFULY!!! IF YOU DONT UNDERSTAND THE ADDRESS (FOR EXAMPLE THE ADDRESSES OF MEXICO CITY ARE VERY LARGE) ASK TO THE RECIPIENT!!!

Leave a Reply

